The European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM) has just published the results of a survey conducted in 2022 among states who are members of both the South-eastern Europe Health Network (SEEHN) and the Council of Europe. The main objective of this initiative was to assess the implementation of pharmaceutical care (PC) in daily practice, with special attention to the process and services described in Council of Europe Resolution CM/Res (2020) 3 on the implementation of pharmaceutical care for the benefit of patients and health services.

To summarise the results, awareness and implementation of PC and related services varies significantly in the region. Shortcomings are frequently due to the absence of regulations or healthcare policies, the lack of data on the proven benefit of PC, the lack of computerised systems and/or IT tools, and the lack of access to patient medical records. A full analysis of the results can be found in the survey report (link below). Wider dissemination of the resolution and broad promotion of the PC concept are needed in SEEHN member states.

Pharmaceutical care is a quality concept and a working method for health professionals involved in prescribing, dispensing and administering medicines. In short, it is the responsible provision of medicine therapy for the purpose of achieving definite outcomes that improve a patient’s quality of life. It involves a process of direct co-operation between pharmacists, other healthcare professionals and the patient to design, implement and monitor a therapeutic plan intended to achieve those outcomes by addressing the medication needs of patients in a comprehensive manner and using a patient-centred approach. Implementation of PC in the SEEHN member states will allow this approach to strengthen healthcare systems through more efficient interprofessional collaboration, leading to a more rational use of medicines and better health outcomes.

Download the full report: “The implementation of pharmaceutical care in daily practice in SEEHN member states”.

2020 © Copyright -